Northern California Ford racer's Message Board Forum Sell & Buy Ford Parts in Northern California Classifieds Mustang Pictures / Videos of Ford Cars in Northern California

Northern California Ford Owners  

read DMs/my profile login | join CAFords | search | faq |
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Northern California Ford Owners     » Automotive   » Tech Talk   » Will one brand of fuel prevent detonation better than another?

- Email this post to someone!    
Author Topic: Will one brand of fuel prevent detonation better than another?
QWICK46
¯
Member # 1843

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for QWICK46  Ford pictures for QWICK46    Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
Hi all,

Last night I posted about troubles with my car after a Timing Adjuster installation. This morning, after thinking about it, I reset the computer, and that seemed to help my issues. Then, I started playing with the timing, reseting the computer after each ajustment.

My problem now, is even with conservative timing adjustments I'm getting a little detonation at WOT. At the moment, I don't hear it until I reach 3rd gear, and after a little experimentation this morning, I've settled on 13*, for now. As long as I don't lay into it, I don't hear any pinging.

My question is in the threads topic: What I really want to know is, can anyone make a call on what brand of fuel is superior to the others when it comes to detonation. Up to now, I've been running 91 octane ARCO. I realize it's a cheaper brand, but the car has run great on it up to now.

My only other engine mods are Steeda's pulleys and a C&L 85mm MAF with their Trueflow pipe.

Any suggestions would be welcome.

Thanks,

--------------------
Michael
'02 GT ~ sold for a Big, Slow Dodge Ram
'03 SV650S
'04 R1100S ~ The daily driver

saleen00925
¯
Member # 1302