Northern California Ford racer's Message Board Forum Sell & Buy Ford Parts in Northern California Classifieds Mustang Pictures / Videos of Ford Cars in Northern California

Northern California Ford Owners  

read DMs/my profile login | join CAFords | search | faq |
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Northern California Ford Owners     » Automotive   » Tech Talk   » How to remove your AC (5.0 Foxbody)

- Email this post to someone!    
Author Topic: How to remove your AC (5.0 Foxbody)
fredfifty
Since
9/2010
Member # 10320

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for fredfifty  Ford pictures for fredfifty    Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
Does anyone have info on how to completely remove the entire AC unit from my 91 GT 5.0? I dont use it or need it and would like to free up space in the engine bay...

--------------------
RIP EDSON VELORO
IM A NOOB, EXCUSE ME. THANKS.
92 LX Coupe 5.0 CARB'd BOLT-ONS SMOG LEGAL
62 Rag Impala

RAP66
¯
Member # 3360

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for RAP66  Ford pictures for RAP66    Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
U will need the AC delete kit - basically a blank pulley to going in place of the compressor.

Remove the compressor, easy, be sure you bleed off the AC line pressure first <the right way take it to a shop and recycle the gas, the not so right way crack open the line and let it bleed out>, Need Fuel line release tools to disconnect the line from the condensor and the canister at the firewall.

from there it's just removing teh piping, pump & condensor in from of the radiator.

[ October 24, 2011, 11:51 AM: Message edited by: RAP66 ]

--------------------
91GT Kurgan Tuned:12lbs of boost 492.4 rwhp / 483.1 rwtq
http://killcarb.org/

www.fordstrokers.com

Posts: 893 | From: SF Bay Area | Registered: Oct 2003  |  :
fredfifty
Since
9/2010
Member # 10320