Northern California Ford racer's Message Board Forum Sell & Buy Ford Parts in Northern California Classifieds Mustang Pictures / Videos of Ford Cars in Northern California

Northern California Ford Owners  

read DMs/my profile login | join CAFords | search | faq |
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Northern California Ford Owners     » Automotive   » Tech Talk   » Is it my alternator or battery? Car just died on the road...

- Email this post to someone!    
Author Topic: Is it my alternator or battery? Car just died on the road...
AL STOCK
Its All Stock
Cuzzon
Member # 1852

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for AL STOCK  Ford pictures for AL STOCK  Author's Homepage     Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
I have a one month old Powermaster 100 AMP alternator and 2 month old Optima Cell Red Battery...

Yesturday when i started up the car i noticed the voltmeter was two bars above red on idle.. So i revved my engine and nothing [Confused] I took it for a spin and still nothing, the volts would no go up......

I dropped my alternator off to parts store to have it checked out and so to test it out i installed my stock alternator... Same thing the guage would sit two bars above red... I took it for a spin 5-6 blocks away and the whole car died just coming to a stop...........

After i jump start it the whole car dies after 30 seconds of driving...

What can cause this? And whats the issue?

--------------------
.:: FANATICS ::.

93 Cobra Teal
93 Cobra V Red
90 SSP
SVT Raptor
Huracan Rosso Mars
E63s W213 Selenite Gray
C7Z M7 Daytona Sunrise

Posts: 6498 | From: San Bruno | Registered: Sep 2002  |  :
the50ho
THE50HO
Member # 73

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for the50ho  Ford pictures for the50ho    Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB