Northern California Ford racer's Message Board Forum Sell & Buy Ford Parts in Northern California Classifieds Mustang Pictures / Videos of Ford Cars in Northern California

Northern California Ford Owners  

read DMs/my profile login | join CAFords | search | faq |
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Northern California Ford Owners     » Automotive   » Tech Talk   » Cant pass smog because of "CHECK ENGINE" light

- Email this post to someone!    
Author Topic: Cant pass smog because of "CHECK ENGINE" light
HYPERSVT
¯
Member # 1707

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for HYPERSVT  Ford pictures for HYPERSVT    Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
I have been tinkering with my car for like two months trying to get rid of this light.
I drive for like 10 min on the dot and the "check engine" light comes on. I can turn the car off for a few minutes and that seems to reset it and buys me another 10 minutes. Unfortunatly the smog guys wont go for that....

Does anyone have a code reader so I can eliminate it at the source.

Does anyone have a SMOG FRIENDLY shop that they could set me up with for a nominal fee no questions asked.....

Thanks in advance

--------------------
Lincoln LS V8
2004 CRF 230

Fostang
¯
Member # 3752

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for Fostang  Ford pictures for Fostang    Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
Sounds like the egr. But without a code scanner you won't know for sure.

--------------------
67' Fastback TT 408
67' Camaro Lsx
64' Corvette Fuelie
57' Chevy Bel Air Lsx
68’ Pony Convertible
66’ Pony Coupe

Posts: 3011 | From: Stockton/Danville | Registered: Nov 2003  |  :
93PONY
Mr. Valve Events
Member # 60

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for 93PONY  Ford pictures for 93PONY        Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
You don't need a scanner to pull codes on your car.