Northern California Ford racer's Message Board Forum Sell & Buy Ford Parts in Northern California Classifieds Mustang Pictures / Videos of Ford Cars in Northern California

Northern California Ford Owners  

read DMs/my profile login | join CAFords | search | faq |
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Northern California Ford Owners     » Automotive   » Tech Talk   » Will GT 40 Crate Engine Pass Smog?

- Email this post to someone!    
Author Topic: Will GT 40 Crate Engine Pass Smog?
Black88TTop
¯
Member # 3032

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for Black88TTop  Ford pictures for Black88TTop    Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
Hi All,

I'm a newbie to the board and am thinking about installing a new GT 40 crate motor (345BHP) from Ford Racing. I'm very worried I won't pass smog.

Background:
- Bone Stock 88 5.0 Mustang
- will buy GT 40 crate motor
- will buy GT 40 upper and lower intake
- will convert to mass air
- will buy Ford Racing shorties
- will keep stock H-pipe, smog equipment, and after cat exhaust

--> Also, I don't know any smog shops that work with / are familiar with modified mustangs, so will be walking in cold off the street to a random smog shop to get smogged.

Should I worry? Will I pass smog?

Thanks!

Ed

Posts: 16 | From: Santa Clara, CA | Registered: Jul 2003  |  :
1990GT50
¯
Member # 2119

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for 1990GT50  Ford pictures for 1990GT50  Author's Homepage     Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
the GT-40 will pass with the e-303 cam but im not sure about the others. The advertised rwhp is actually flywheel hp and maby even a little less.
Blu50Stang
CAFords OG
Member # 489

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for Blu50Stang  Ford pictures for Blu50Stang    Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB