Northern California Ford racer's Message Board Forum Sell & Buy Ford Parts in Northern California Classifieds Mustang Pictures / Videos of Ford Cars in Northern California

Northern California Ford Owners  

read DMs/my profile login | join CAFords | search | faq |
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Northern California Ford Owners     » Automotive   » Tech Talk   » Need advice on a new blower combo

- Email this post to someone!    
Author Topic: Need advice on a new blower combo
phildog
¯
Member # 1214

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for phildog  Ford pictures for phildog    Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
This is my first attempt at putting together a blower car so I need some direction. Here is what I already have:

'90 shortblock, looks clean, supposedly 90k miles

GT-40X heads, seriously ported on the exhaust, pocket ported and just freshened by Top of the Hill Race Cars in Livermore

1.6 FR roller rockers

GT-40 intake, all stock with 70mm TB and EGR plate

Powerdyne 6lb blower-brand new

Shortie headers and full 2.5" exhaust

I know that these parts may not be optimum, but I already have them. The intake cannot be changed due to hood clearance (it's not in a Mustang). Everything else is fair game...

Let me know what kind of MAF, injectors, cam, tune, etc I should use. I want to make a lot of power and still be reliable. Smog is not an issue.

Or should I just sell all my shit and buy a nice Camry instead of living around piles of car parts and bathing in Fast Orange?

92stangLX
¯
Member # 3252

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for 92stangLX  Ford pictures for 92stangLX    Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
I would run a S-Trim instead of the Powerdyne. I have not heard very many good things about those blowers. Also, you are probably ok cranking the boost up to 8lbs.