Northern California Ford racer's Message Board Forum Sell & Buy Ford Parts in Northern California Classifieds Mustang Pictures / Videos of Ford Cars in Northern California

Northern California Ford Owners  

read DMs/my profile login | join CAFords | search | faq |
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Northern California Ford Owners     » Automotive   » Tech Talk   » motor running lean! cant fix with fuel pressure....

- Email this post to someone!    
Author Topic: motor running lean! cant fix with fuel pressure....
SVT Fox
¯
Member # 1837

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for SVT Fox  Ford pictures for SVT Fox    Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
Im no expert on mild tuning at all so forgive me if I sound like an idiot. I have an electric air/fuel guage hooked up to the single purple wire from the ECU. A very credible buddy did it this way, so I trust it was the right way. With my fuel pressure was at about 29 PSI, and the air/fuel guage never went in the rich area at all and would go off the guage deep in the red (lean) when coasting or idling. I bumped the fuel press up to 39 PSI and it no longer goes deep off the guage lean, but I still can not get it into deep green at wide open.

I have pro M shorty 80mm with 24# injectors, 70mm accufab race TB, timing I beleve is at 17 advance, (but i think my balencer may have slipped)

--------------------
65 coupe
66 Coupe
92 Fobra
97 Cobra
98 Cobra
01 GT

Jeff S
¯
Member # 371

Ford Icon 1 posted      Profile for Jeff S  Ford pictures for Jeff S  Author's Homepage     Send New Direct Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote       Share this CAFords post on FB
The A/F gauge you have is complete crap and should NOT be used for any type of tuning. If you want to check your A/F using a gauge you will need a wideband 02 sensor and kit like the DynoJet Wideband Commander or Innovate LM-1.